Arkansas power plant to shut down, reduce emissions

Fayetteville, Ark.

— The U.S. Department of Energy announced Monday that it will phase out its $6.7 billion plant in South Dakota, and it will close two other nuclear power plants.

The Department of Environmental Quality says the two plants in South Carolina, which have been the focus of a public health crisis, will shut down by early next year.

The plants in Georgia, which are under construction and were already shut down last year, will be shut down in 2019 and 2020.

The department says the three plants will be fully phased out by 2020, with only the reactors and their associated equipment remaining.

They are located in Georgia and South Carolina.

“The DOE is committed to continuing to make progress toward meeting our energy security goals and we are committed to finding innovative and cost-effective ways to reduce our reliance on nuclear power,” DOE spokeswoman Emily Schill said in a statement.

“Our goal is to achieve zero carbon emissions by 2030.

We are also committed to investing in the transition to cleaner energy.”

As part of the phaseout plan, the government will begin dismantling the two nuclear plants and transferring the power to renewable sources.

The government will also begin a comprehensive study on the impact of the plant shutdowns on public health, and the power plant will be closed for at least a year.